Using AND with $domain option

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey
Post Reply
ainkami
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:53 am

Using AND with $domain option

Post by ainkami »

I want to make an exception filter for google image search.

My current exception filter:
@@|http://tbn*.google.com/images$image,domain=images.google.com

This filter allows thumbnail loading if a link points to an image file OR if it is called from images.google.com. How do I make it only load links if it is an image AND it is called form images.google.com?

If there is no support for it in the current ABP version, can support be added in future version please?
asdf

Post by asdf »

If the whitelist filter you're using allows third-party images you don't want, then you just need to whitelist first-party images. That is not-third-party.

Code: Select all

@@|http://tbn*.google.com/images$image,~third-party,domain=images.google.com
Or you could leave that filter alone and use

Code: Select all

*$image,third-party,domain=images.google.com
to blacklist eternal images only while you're doing a google image search.
User avatar
Adblock Plus Fan
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:08 am

Re: Using AND with $domain option

Post by Adblock Plus Fan »

ainkami wrote:This filter allows thumbnail loading if a link points to an image file OR if it is called from images.google.com.
It actually already is an "AND". Any additional filter options added works as additional condition.


I think the part that has you confused is how $domain works when it comes to frames. Wladimir explains how it works here: http://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3269

Basically your whitelist filter will work on any domain if it's invoked from an images.google.com frame. The $domain feature isn't quite as site specific as most people might think unfortunately.
grigorianz
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:45 pm

Re: Using AND with $domain option

Post by grigorianz »

That code @@|http://tbn*.google.com/images$image,~third-party,domain=images.google.com
works perfectly.
Post Reply