Data usage for ABP on Android

Everything about using the stand-alone Adblock Plus app on Android
User avatar
mapx
Posts: 21942
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:01 pm

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by mapx »

DanielB wrote:I too have INSANE data usage from adblock plus on my rooted Nexus 4. 800MB-1.2GB per day, and it is not the sum of all other app data usage due to traffic "passing though the app". This data is being consumed whilst the phone is in standby, whilst all other traffic adds up to barely 30MB.

I've no idea what's going on, but I'm not having it on my phone that's for damn sure!
what version of abp is installed on your phone ?
Gnasher328
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:14 am

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by Gnasher328 »

My provider backs up the fact that ABP ate 300Mb in one day of simple browsing.
User avatar
mapx
Posts: 21942
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:01 pm

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by mapx »

Gnasher328 wrote: My provider backs up the fact that ABP ate 300Mb in one day of simple browsing.
read
forum/viewtopic.php?p=86169#p86169

#285: 2013-10-10 19:52 +0200 Sebastian Schmidt
Fix closing socket in brazil's HttpRequest Review: https://github.com/adblockplus/adblockp ... oid/pull/2
https://downloads.adblockplus.org/devbu ... elog.xhtml

what is your version ?
qa-blamer-for-life

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by qa-blamer-for-life »

I used 1.1.4 for 2 months and the problem is fixed. I was very cautious about it, setting my phone to turn off data if it used 10mb and adjusting it daily
yahallo

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by yahallo »

i was using the latest version and abp was also burning through my data package like crazy. this bug is NOT fixed and you should acknowledge it to save people from nasty surprises.
Gnasher328
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:14 am

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by Gnasher328 »

It is not an opinion it is fact. My version is 1.2 but I only downloaded it a few weeks ago. I have just downloaded another from the 1.4 page and it is also 1.2.
I was not streaming anyway so I don't think that is the problem here. (OK, that's an opinion/guess).
the_third_eye
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:20 pm

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by the_third_eye »

Just want to echo with many others, I do feel ABP consumes a lot of bandwidth.

I was running 1.2 on Galaxy S4. I did one simple experiment, please tell me if the logic is wrong.

1. Turn off the mobile data and sync. I check the bandwidth consumption of ABP and Firefox. Here we have the baseline data;
2. Make sure ABP is running, turn on mobile data, leave sync off;
3. Run firefox, go to one site, let's say http://www.nytimes.com,
4. Turn off mobile data;
5. Check the bandwidth consumption again.

I see the consumption of both ABP and firefox had gone up.

Now, repeat step 1-4, and with ABP disabled.

The data tell me that ABP does consume data when it is running. Here is my question: what is it doing?
angelicapotts2

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by angelicapotts2 »

Version 1.2.1

The problem is still there on wifi. ... i can get through gigs and gigs.

Lucky I have an unlimited plan. ... but it's still shocking! !!!

I thought it had been fixed. What is going on! !!!!
bitjericho

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by bitjericho »

I have a 3gb hard limit and hit it for the first time I've owned this phone. Installed ABP about a month ago. Checking the data usage, I only hit the 3gb mark when you include the ABP traffic. Uninstalling. Wondering what that data was used for...
edifice

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by edifice »

Android version 4.4.4, ktu84p
ABP version 1.2.1 build 318
If it matters, using a nexus 5

July 8-15, 3 GB data used by ABP
June 26 - July 15, 7.15 GB data used by ABP.

I was not able to figure out how to for a bug report. Nor was I able to find a later version of ABP on the downloads page.

A look into the matter would be appreciated. Cheers.
User avatar
mapx
Posts: 21942
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:01 pm

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by mapx »

how did you measure those data ? on your device or info from your provider ?

the last dev builds for ABP (android):
https://downloads.adblockplus.org/devbu ... usandroid/
edifice

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by edifice »

Hi. I am measuring data using phone information and by monitoring provider meter - however the latter doesn't show data usage per app. Besides the regular data usage app, my battery monitor - which also records bytes sent and received by apps - also shows significant data receipt by ABP.

Since you refer to the dev builds, may I take it that the latest stable release has not addressed this issue?
edifice

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by edifice »

Just wanted to add that according to GSam Battery Monitor, ABP has received approx. 640mb of data in the last 52 minutes.
User avatar
mapx
Posts: 21942
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:01 pm

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by mapx »

all the data is passing thru ABP (as a proxy), so is not the data used by it, but by all the apps
so, the real data used by your phone is that measured by your provider

It was time ago a bug fixed by the devs but also a lot of improvements in the last dev builds, so it should be better try those builds
edifice

Re: Data usage for ABP on Android

Post by edifice »

I see what you are saying. However, by that logic the app that generates the traffic shldnt show up in the data usage screen. For example, if youtube has used 500 mb of data in a time period, that data should be reported only under ABP and not YouTube since traffic is being routed via ABP. However, YouTube does show a decent amount of data usage. As does Spotify, and other apps. Even if the phone is reporting data used both under ABP and the app, the numbers do not add up.

Also, ABP is being reported as having used 12gb of data now (it was a little over 7 two days ago). I doubt I've legimately used 4-5 gigs of data in 2 days. I haven't streamed video at all, just browsing, email, texts, and spotify at normal quality.
Post Reply