Adblock update pop up

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Google Chrome
SockEyedKitten

Adblock update pop up

Post by SockEyedKitten »

While opening a new tab earlier on my Chrome browser, I noticed another tab also opened up on its own and directed me to a page informing me that adblock has just been updated, as well as a section detailing donations.

I found this weird as I've been using adblock plus for 5+ years now and don't believe I have ever gotten a pop-up/new tab opened by it before. I have scanned my computer using malwarebytes but it couldn't seem to find anything.

Is this legit? I took a screenshot of the pop up here: https://imgur.com/3CWCdci
iris

Re: Adblock update pop up

Post by iris »

I'm really curious too. I've had it happen the last few days, two different computers. A couple times a day I open a new tab and Adblock opens up a new one telling me the same version has been updated.
greiner
ABP Developer

Post by greiner »

Yes, this page is coming from us. If you're interested, you can find more information about it in my reply to a similar question on this forum. I hope this helps clear up some confusion and want to assure you that this is currently only an experiment that we're trying to learn from. Therefore any feedback - positive and negative - is highly appreciated.
SockEyedKitten wrote:I found this weird as I've been using adblock plus for 5+ years now and don't believe I have ever gotten a pop-up/new tab opened by it before.
We rarely do this but there have been various situations over the last few years in which we've been opening a new tab:
- We opened a page upon updating to version 3.0 in which we highlighted the changes we made as part of that major update (see specification).
- We show a first-run page upon installing the extension.
- We show a page alerting the user about data corruption issues, whenever we detect any.
- We open the settings page upon clicking on a link for subscribing to a filter list.