[FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey
Guest

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by Guest »

Gingerbread Man wrote:This is Mozilla bug 1079355. It should be resolved in Firefox 37, which will be released around April 7th.]
Does this mean I can/should re-set dom.indexedDB.enabled back to FALSE once Firefox 37 installs?
User avatar
Gingerbread Man
Posts: 1339
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:28 am

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by Gingerbread Man »

Guest wrote:Does this mean I can/should re-set dom.indexedDB.enabled back to FALSE once Firefox 37 installs?
Yes, you can. In Firefox 37, that preference only affects websites, not add-ons.
Of course, websites that rely on the IndexedDB feature would still fail to work, so I wouldn't say that you should.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
Posts: 8395
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by Wladimir Palant »

One issue I found yesterday is bug 1122204. Could anybody having this issue please go to about:permissions and make sure that you don't have "Block" configured under "Maintain Offline Storage" for all sites? Switching it to "always ask" will make Adblock Plus work again. If that's not it then there is probably some other Firefox bug we don't know about yet.

For reference, bug 1122204 is going to be fixed in Firefox 37 (with some luck already in Firefox 36).
Adblock ROCKS! [Coffee Made Me Do It!]

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by Adblock ROCKS! [Coffee Made Me Do It!] »

This worked, make sure the adblockplus.org site is highlighted.

Thank you!

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by Wladimir Palant » Fri Jan 16, 2015 4:44 pm
One issue I found yesterday is bug 1122204. Could anybody having this issue please go to about:permissions and make sure that you don't have "Block" configured under "Maintain Offline Storage" for all sites? Switching it to "always ask" will make Adblock Plus work again. If that's not it then there is probably some other Firefox bug we don't know about yet.

For reference, bug 1122204 is going to be fixed in Firefox 37 (with some luck already in Firefox 36).
Guest

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by Guest »

Wladimir Palant wrote:One issue I found yesterday is bug 1122204. Could anybody having this issue please go to about:permissions and make sure that you don't have "Block" configured under "Maintain Offline Storage" for all sites? Switching it to "always ask" will make Adblock Plus work again. If that's not it then there is probably some other Firefox bug we don't know about yet.

For reference, bug 1122204 is going to be fixed in Firefox 37 (with some luck already in Firefox 36).
ABP is failing to work for me with "Maintain Offline Storage" set to "Always Ask".
Guest

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by Guest »

Guest wrote:
Wladimir Palant wrote:ABP is failing to work for me with "Maintain Offline Storage" set to "Always Ask".
And install. Sorry, I got a little quick on the reply. But yes, ABP fails to run or install unless dom.indexedDB.enabled is true, regardless of my "Maintain Offline Storage" setting.
PingHansen
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 3:59 pm

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by PingHansen »

A quick test with Firefox 36b2 shows that Adblock Plus (2.6.7) is now allowed to work again. My other addons that were similarly affected in FF 35, also work again.

Yay :mrgreen:
User avatar
Gingerbread Man
Posts: 1339
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:28 am

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by Gingerbread Man »

Yes, the patch was uplifted, so it's in the current Firefox 36 beta. Firefox 36 final will be available around February 24th.
PingHansen
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 3:59 pm

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by PingHansen »

Gingerbread Man wrote:the patch was uplifted
Uplifted my spirits, it did :D
A guest

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by A guest »

Thanks for the hint with about:config dom.index... -> reset , works fine for me. First I've set it in FF34 (after downgrading it from FF35) and than update it to FF35. No need to reset profiles etc. and no probs with other addons.

But by the way - another problem I've had was the dropdownlist for the tabs. Without the workaround in FF35 it shows nothing and after the change now it is the old behavior.
kyuu

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by kyuu »

Seem to official firefox build releated Cyberfox 35builds work fine but all the official firefox seem to have issue block ads special on amazon abp is white like it disabled there but it not actual disabled
AngryMono

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by AngryMono »

Waiting for FF 36 here.

about:config dom.index... was already setted to true.
"Maintain Offline Storage" was already setted to "Always Ask".
"Settings>General>When Firefox starts" was already setted to "Show my windows and tabs from last time".

I've proved changing those options but it continues not working. Nothing happens. :?
User avatar
Gingerbread Man
Posts: 1339
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:28 am

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by Gingerbread Man »

^ Then your issue doesn't have anything to do with what's described in this thread.
  1. Reset Firefox. This will discard all add-ons and their settings, but will preserve your personal data like bookmarks, passwords and cookies.
    https://support.mozilla.org/kb/refresh- ... d-settings
  2. Install Adblock Plus.
    https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/adblock-plus/
  3. If you continue having problems, start a new thread and describe the issue in detail.
    forum/posting.php?mode=post&f=1
lewisje
Posts: 2743
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:07 pm

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by lewisje »

I believe System Restore would only restore old versions of drivers and core Windows components, not third-party applications like Firefox and its profiles.
There's a buzzin' in my brain I really can't explain; I think about it before they make me go to bed.
ospreykat

Re: [FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Post by ospreykat »

For those of us not so computer tech savy how can I get this problem fixed. I am SO tired of these ads popping up and interfering with my work. I have tried to download Adblocker Pro but it won't download. I took my computer to the doctor and found out I had a virus but now that it is cleaned up I'm still getting the ads and ADP isn't stopping them-especially on Ustream where I do some work to chat with others. Thanks for any help you can give me.
Post Reply